↓ Download Report
PE
Research Note01

Can a credible case be made for private equity in adult social care?

One version of the argument holds up against the evidence. It is narrow, and it is about capital rather than care quality.
Research & analysis
Bridgehead Social CareOriginal analysis of CQC and Companies House data
July 2026
Scroll to begin ↓
01
The short answer

What the evidence does and does not support.

Not a straight yes. Two claims hold up on the published evidence. Two do not, and an argument resting on either would not survive review.

✓Yes, defensiblyPrivate capital in aggregate — REITs, institutional and pension money, developers and private-equity funds together — is the only material source of new care capacity, and will remain so under any realistic fiscal scenario. This describes who funds beds, not which owner; it is not a claim about private equity specifically, which the rest of this note treats as its own question.
✓Yes, with concessionsThe documented harms attach to specific financial structures — leverage, propco separation, related-party rent, offshore holding — not to private ownership as a category. The distinction matters and is rarely made.
✗NoThat private-equity ownership improves care quality. The UK and US evidence both point the other way.
✗NoThat private equity lowers cost to the taxpayer, that leverage is benign, or that the sector is adequately transparent. None of the three is supportable.
✗Not yet evidencedThat the harm is specifically financial structure. Our own analysis of 13,638 English care homes is inconclusive rather than clean: leverage, group consolidation and property-holding all come back null, but who controls the registered provider is significant — in the opposite direction from what the critics' thesis predicts. It remains an open question, not a finding either side can claim.
02
The thesis

The claim is about capital, not care quality.

The proposition that holds is about capital rather than outcomes, and about structures rather than ownership class. It concedes a great deal.

Private capital — capital in the broad sense, not private equity alone — is the only material source of new capacity in UK adult social care, and will remain so under any realistic fiscal scenario. The policy question is therefore not whether private capital participates, but on what terms, and by whom.

We tested the second half of that proposition — that the terms which matter are financial structure, not the private-equity label itself — against the data. It did not hold. What follows is what the evidence supports.

03
Plank one

The state has largely stopped providing care.

Public provision has fallen from 42% to 9% of adult social care in a single generation. The figure comes from outsourcing’s most prominent academic critics, which makes it hard to contest. It describes the starting position rather than a proposal.

Fig 1Publicly provided adult social care as a share of all provision, England
0%10%20%30%40%50%42%9%20012024the state leaves the building
Source: Goodair & Bach-Mortensen, BMJ, November 2024 (R1). Endpoints as published; the line between them is indicative.
0%
of care homes in England now operate for profit, up from 78% in 2011.
R2 · Lancet Healthy Longevity
0
providers operate across England: an exceptionally fragmented market.
R9 · Institute for Government
£0m
Hampshire care home investment halted after build costs rose by at least £45m.
R11 · BBC News
04
Plank two

Most of the estate is more than twenty years old.

Four in five care homes are more than twenty years old. Nearly two in five were converted from something else. Three in ten beds have no en-suite bathroom at all, and seven in ten have no full wet room. This is the physical stock the sector actually runs on.

Fig 2The obsolescence audit: what is wrong with the existing stock
Homes older than 20 years79%Beds with no full wet room70%Homes converted from other use38%Beds with no en-suite bathroom30%Rated Requires Improvement / Inadequate19%
Source: Knight Frank, Healthcare Development Opportunities 2026, Fig 5 (R3). CQC rating share as reported by Knight Frank.
Every registered care home in England · CQC, 1 July 2026
01 / 05

05
Plank three

Bed supply is flat while the population ages.

Over the past decade UK care bed supply grew 2.4%. The over-65 population grew 16.2%. In the most recent year, total supply rose by 136 beds. Deregistrations of small, old homes now substantially offset everything new that opens.

Fig 3Care bed supply against the over-65 population, indexed 2015 = 100
1001051101152015201820212025116.2over-65s102.4care bedsthe gap no one is funding
Source: Knight Frank, Healthcare Development Opportunities 2026 (R3), citing Tomorrow’s Guides and ONS. Bed data is actual; the over-65 line joins sourced endpoints and is indicative between them.
06
Plank four

On current trajectory the market runs out of beds in 2033.

Knight Frank puts capacity exhaustion at 2033 and the shortfall at roughly 200,000 beds by 2050. For en-suite provision specifically, the market is already in deficit. This is the arithmetic the argument rests on.

Fig 4Projected shortfall of elderly care beds, UK, to 2050
050k100k150k200k2025203320402050MARKET CAPACITY REACHED · 2033200,000 beds short
Source: Knight Frank, Healthcare Development Opportunities 2026, Fig 20a (R3). Demand from ONS projections applied to Knight Frank care-usage multipliers; supply extrapolated at the 2011–22 compound growth rate of 0.5%.
Fig 5Where the capital actually comes from
£11.3bnPrivate capital into UKhealthcare property, 2025£13.2bnEntire DHSC capitalbudget, 2025/26Of the £13.2bn DHSC capitalbudget, no dedicated linefunds the adult social careresidential estate. Councilshave almost entirely stoppedbuilding.
Sources: Knight Frank (R3) for 2025 healthcare property investment; Health Foundation / HM Treasury (R8) for the DHSC capital budget. Deliberately not a like-for-like comparison.
07
Concessions

Four concessions.

Each is well documented. Leaving them out invites the objection instead of answering it.

Quality

The evidence points the other way

US Medicare data covering more than seven million patients associates private-equity ownership with roughly 10–11% higher short-term mortality and 19% higher spending. English CQC data associates private-equity-backed chains with a 6.6 percentage-point higher probability of a Requires Improvement or Inadequate rating.

R5 · R4
Leverage

The financial fragility is real

The five largest private-equity-backed providers have borrowed £35,072 against every bed. Servicing that debt consumes 16% of the average weekly residential fee. Southern Cross remains the reference case.

R6
Extraction

Related-party payment is documented

Across the 26 largest providers, £117m of debt service — 45% of the total — is paid to related companies. In three English regions alone, over £250m in profit was taken across three years.

R6 · R7
Opacity

Not defensible

Ownership chains routinely run through jurisdictions that defeat scrutiny. That is not defensible. Nor is the pattern in how sponsors talk about themselves: at least six independent PE, REIT and infrastructure sponsors publish detailed ESG reporting for the exact UK care holding in question — carbon, workforce, diversity metrics — with zero mentions of CQC ratings or safeguarding, in several cases in the same document that covers care quality in detail for a different portfolio company. One disclosure mechanism, recurring six times.

R10 · R20
08
The key finding

The quality penalty is not distinctively a private equity problem.

This is the most useful finding in the literature and it is rarely cited. In the largest English study, private-equity-backed chains and independent single-site for-profit homes perform the same. Both are worse than not-for-profit. Non-PE for-profit chains do best of the three.

Fig 6Probability of a Requires Improvement or Inadequate CQC rating, by ownership type
Not-for-profit & publicbaselineFor-profit chain, no PE+2.5ppFor-profit, private-equity backed+6.6ppFor-profit, independent single site+6.8ppsameeffect
Source: Patwardhan, Sutton & Morciano, Age and Ageing 2022;51(12):afac222 (R4). Percentage-point difference vs not-for-profit, generalised ordered logistic regression with local authority fixed effects, n = 10,803. Authors note they could not control for purpose-built status, occupancy, staffing or resident case mix.

If a small independent home and a private-equity chain score the same, the problem is not the ownership label. Regulate the financial structure, and the argument becomes empirical rather than tribal.

Two warnings attach to this. First, it does not rescue private equity: for-profit of every kind still underperforms not-for-profit. Second, it is uncomfortable for the small-provider constituency, because independent for-profit homes rate worst of all. Both halves have to be stated together.

09
Leverage

Sixteen pence in every pound goes to servicing debt.

This is a fact about balance sheets rather than about ownership, which is the point. It also sets the terms for the recommendation.

Fig 7Debt service at the five largest private-equity-backed providers
Every £100 of an average weekly residential care fee16%goes to servicing debtat the five largest private-equity-backed providers£35,072borrowed against every singlebed£102interest cost per bed, perweek45%of the 26 largest providers'debt payments go to relatedcompanies
Source: Centre for Health and the Public Interest, Plugging the leaks in the UK care home industry (R6). 2017 data.

These five are named, not anonymous — and by 2026 the ownership behind them has moved. Two have been sold to the same buyer, a US-listed healthcare REIT, within twelve months of each other; a third no longer exists as an operating group. At most one of the five is confidently still private-equity-owned. The balance-sheet fact stands; the ownership label attached to it does not (R16).

The buyer has not stopped at two. The UK Competition and Markets Authority’s 7 May 2026 Phase 1 decision covers four completed Welltower acquisitions in the same window — 649 care homes across HC-One (279), Care UK (home count not disclosed), Barchester (275) and Aria/Asprey plus Danforth Care (95, one combined transaction) — and finds competition concerns in 30 local areas. On Welltower’s RIDEA-structured homes specifically, the regulator found Welltower holds approval rights over its operators’ business plans and budgets, funds their capital expenditure, and can terminate them without cause: a landlord shaping a care home’s competitive and quality offering without ever being its operator of record (R19).

The one of the five still confidently private-equity-owned, Orchard Care Homes, is also the one where real leverage data now exists: its parent, Cortina Race LLP, discloses in its own Companies House group accounts a turnover of £63.9m against interest payable of £3.0m — interest cover of roughly 0.6x on trading profit — and a related-party loan charging 10% interest. This is not the propco or the fund three steps further up, but it is real, audited, and free (R21).

10
The pilot

We built the dataset and tested it.

Every active English care home on the CQC register, joined to Companies House on the company number CQC itself publishes for 91% of them. 13,638 rated homes, 6,812 providers, 437,514 registered beds. Logit on a poor rating (Requires Improvement or Inadequate), local-authority fixed effects, clustered errors, and case mix controlled — a control the published literature did not have.

Ownership class
Does not
predict quality
Adjusted for scale, chain size and case mix, for-profit versus third sector is not statistically significant. The headline of the critical literature does not survive the controls.
Financial structure
Points the
wrong way
Leverage, group consolidation and property-holding activity stay non-significant. But having a disclosed corporate parent, or an opaque ownership record, is significant — and predicts better ratings, not worse. Most likely a governance-capacity effect in larger groups, not evidence financialisation is benign.
What does predict it
Scale and
maturity
Chain size falls monotonically against poor ratings, and older companies rate better. Both highly significant. Neither is an ownership story.
Fig 8Poor CQC ratings by provider chain size
0%5%10%15%20%21.1%Single siten=5,14116.9%2-5 homesn=3,40915.0%6-20 homesn=2,68814.5%21-50 homesn=91311.9%51+ homesn=1,487bigger chains rate better, monotonically
Bridgehead analysis of CQC ratings and registration data, 1 July 2026. Unadjusted rates; n shown per band. The gradient survives adjustment (Fig 9).
Fig 9What survives the controls, and what does not
no effect (OR 1.0)← better ratingsworse ratings →Chain of 51+ homesOR 0.68 ***Chain of 6-20 homesOR 0.84 *Company 10-20 years oldOR 0.61 ***Company 20+ years oldOR 0.70 ***Third sector (vs for-profit)OR 0.91 n.s.4+ outstanding chargesOR 0.86 n.s.Files group accountsOR 0.99 n.s.Declares real-estate SICOR 1.11 n.s.Has a corporate/legal-person PSCOR 0.77 ***No PSC disclosedOR 0.60 **PSC statement onlyOR 0.70 *
Bridgehead analysis. Adjusted odds ratios from a logit on poor rating, company-owned homes (n = 12,288), local-authority fixed effects, clustered errors, case mix controlled. Solid markers are significant at p<0.05; hollow markers are not significant.
Limitations

The leverage proxies are still too coarse to test the thesis. The group-structure proxy reaches one layer higher, and what it finds does not point where the critics expect.

Charge counts count charges, not amounts, and they sit on the registered-provider company. The leverage the critics describe sits in the propco and the offshore parent, which those proxies cannot see. The Companies House PSC snapshot narrows that gap by one layer — who controls the registered provider directly. A disclosed corporate or legal-person controller predicts a lower chance of a poor rating once scale, age and case mix are held constant, and that term is stable across every specification we tried. It is not separable from scale, though: corporate-PSC prevalence rises from 49% of single-site providers to 78% of chains of fifty-one or more, so it most plausibly reflects compliance capacity in larger corporate groups rather than group structure improving care.

The two non-disclosure categories are weaker than they first appear, and we have split them out rather than combining them. Homes whose provider files a PSC statement instead of naming a controller do rate better, but 76% of them are charities, which are largely exempt from PSC disclosure and rate better anyway. Combined into one “opaque” dummy the effect looked strong; decomposed, it is weaker and partly re-measures sector rather than opacity. Read it as a caution about the measure, not a finding about ownership.

Genuinely offshore corporate controllers are in the data but far too rare to test: 173 of the 6,793 rated homes whose provider has a corporate PSC, and only 35 of 3,128 such companies. Those counts exclude filings where the country field holds a misspelling of England, a postal address or “not specified”, all of which a literal match reads as offshore. The snapshot also sees only one layer up: for most homes that is a UK holding company, not the fund three steps further up.

Everything above is cross-sectional and associational, so no causal claim is available. CQC ratings are a regulatory judgement made on varying inspection dates rather than a contemporaneous measure of care.

11
The taxonomy, built

This paper's own Method section called for a taxonomy. We built one, for every provider on the register.

Companies House PSC filings, walked upward past the single layer the free bulk snapshot can see, cover all 7,221 active provider companies on the register (486,020 beds). 7.7% of providers (7.7% of beds) remain unresolved — mostly small, single-home operators with no PSC trail to follow. The rest resolve to a named investor type: family or founder, charity, mutual, employee ownership trust, REIT, private equity, or pension and infrastructure fund.

Family or founder
75.2% of providers
60.3% of beds
Not a residual category. This is the modal English care-home owner, at every scale the PSC register can resolve.
All institutional capital
8.2% of providers
17.5% of beds
REIT, private equity, pension/infrastructure funds, employee ownership trusts and unnamed multi-level holding structures combined. Concentrated in the largest chains, as the hand-traced top operators already showed.
Private equity specifically
0.6% of providers
1.0% of beds
A small fraction of what “private capital” implies. The critical literature's target category is a sliver of the market this taxonomy can actually see.
Fig 11Adjusted odds of a poor rating, by granular investor type
no effect vs family/founder (OR 1.0)← better ratingsworse ratings →MutualOR 0.62 ***Charity / third sectorOR 0.77 **REITOR 0.69 **Private equityOR 0.78 n.s.Pension / infrastructure fundOR 1.26 n.s.Institutional, sponsor unresolvedOR 0.95 n.s.Employee ownership trustOR 0.90 n.s.Local authorityOR 0.60 *Ownership unresolvedOR 0.90 n.s.
Bridgehead analysis. Logit on poor rating vs Family-or-Founder (reference category), local-authority fixed effects, clustered errors, case mix and scale controlled (n = 13,637). Solid markers are significant at p<0.05; hollow markers are not.
What survives

Mutual, charitable, REIT and local-authority ownership are significant once scale is controlled. Private equity is not — in either direction.

The raw, unadjusted gap looks dramatic: homes under private-equity ownership have a 10.3% poor-rating rate against 19.6% for family-or-founder homes. It does not survive controlling for scale and case mix (adjusted OR 0.78, p=0.25, not significant). Private-equity-owned chains skew larger and more established, and this taxonomy's own earlier finding already established that scale, not ownership, is what predicts quality — this is that finding surviving a much sharper ownership category, not a new one.

Mutual (OR 0.62, p<0.001), charity/third-sector (OR 0.77, p=0.008), REIT (OR 0.69, p=0.003) and local authority (OR 0.60, p=0.017) are the categories that remain significant, and all four point toward better outcomes. The REIT and local-authority results are new to a 5 September 2026 pipeline revision that reclassified 873 previously-“unresolved” providers using CQC’s own registration fields (a disclosed charity number, its own Individual/Partnership ownership-type field, a local-authority name pattern) — REIT crosses from borderline (p=0.056) to significant, and local authority goes from too imprecisely estimated to interpret to a fourth significant, protective category (91 councils correctly reclassified out of “unresolved”). Every other category — pension/infrastructure funds, employee ownership trusts, and providers whose ownership still could not be resolved — shows no detectable effect either way.

This method resolves who controls the regulated care-providing entity, not who owns the underlying real estate. A REIT can be landlord to a fully independent operator without ever appearing here — confirmed directly during this build, where one of the largest 2025 REIT deals in the sector turned out to be a sale-and-leaseback of the buildings, with the operating company's own ownership unchanged. Real-estate-only financialisation is therefore undercounted by this taxonomy, not overcounted.

Scale of the estate

One square, one care home.

All 14,892 of them. The block that lights up is every home currently rated Requires Improvement or Inadequate — 2,372 homes, 16% of the estate. That is the scale of the quality problem.

Good or Outstanding · 12,520 Requires Improvement or Inadequate · 2,372
12
Churn

About 850 homes leave the register every year.

5,936 care-home registrations ended between 2019 and 2025. The CQC data independently confirms Knight Frank on what leaves: the median home on exit had 21 beds against 28 across the live estate, and 47.5% of exits were under twenty beds against 38.8% of homes still operating. Small, old stock is leaving, and where it is replaced it is replaced by something larger.

Fig 10Care-home registrations ending each year, and the size of what leaves
025050075010009492019822202096720218032022827202376820248002025Median beds28 live estate21 on exitUnder 20 beds38.8% live47.5% of exits
Bridgehead analysis of the CQC deactivated-locations file, 1 July 2026. Counts are registrations ended, which includes transfers and re-registrations as well as genuine closures.
Not publishable

Deregistration is not closure

A change of registered provider can deregister a home and re-register it. The bed total is gross churn; read as capacity lost it would overstate the case substantially.

Not publishable

Exit rates by provider size are biased

The denominator can only be built from providers still registered, so a single-site operator that closed its only home vanishes from the data entirely. That deflates the single-site exit rate by an unknown amount. It needs a provider cohort fixed at a past date from the CQC archive series.

Tested, and untestable

The buyer-of-last-resort claim

We built a 29-point quarterly panel from CQC’s own historical archive (2019–2026) to test it directly. Result: zero locations changed registered provider across the whole 6.75-year panel — not a resolution problem, a structural one. Share-purchase acquisitions, which is how this sector’s PE/REIT deals are overwhelmingly done, never touch CQC’s registered provider at all. Verified against Danforth Care: its provider entity pre-dates Welltower’s 2025 acquisition of it by nearly two years. This is exactly why ownership-chain data (R17), not CQC registration data, was the only route to this paper’s central analysis (R22).

13
Method

Five steps.

The original contribution is step one. Everything else depends on replacing the binary with a structural taxonomy.

↓ Tap any step to read it in full
14
Open items

What is not yet sourced.

Every figure here traces to a citable source except the following.

Not yet sourced

The private-equity flag itself

The pilot can separate for-profit from third sector, and can measure scale, chain size, company age and secured borrowing. It cannot identify private-equity ownership at the location/provider level: CQC publishes no such field and no current public list exists. **Largely addressed**: R16 hand-traces the 26 largest named operators with individual citations, and R17 extends the same structural classification (multi-level shell ladders, named sponsors, not keyword-matching) to the full register — 6,666 of 7,221 providers (92.3%) resolved to a named investor type. Private equity specifically is 0.64% of providers and 1.01% of beds once resolved. What remains open: 7.7% of providers (mostly single-home operators) have no PSC trail to follow, and this is a snapshot — PE ownership turns over on fund-cycle timescales, so it will date the same way R16 has already dated once. R23 is a separate, structural limit rather than a resolution gap: an opco/propco sale-and-leaseback split (as at Berkley Care) is invisible to any PSC walk, since the regulated operating company genuinely is management-owned and the institutional money sits entirely in an unconnected property company.

Not yet sourced

Group-level financial structure

The leverage null is most likely a measurement failure. Charge counts count charges, not amounts, and sit on the registered-provider company rather than the propco or offshore parent where the structures CHPI describes sit. **Partially addressed**: the Companies House PSC snapshot reveals who controls the registered provider directly. A disclosed corporate controller is significant but inseparable from chain size (49% of single-site providers vs 78% of 51+ chains). The non-disclosure categories are confounded with sector — 76% of statement-only homes are charities, which are PSC-exempt and rate better — so they are reported decomposed rather than as one opacity dummy. Offshore controllers are too rare to test (35 of 3,128 companies). **Further addressed** (R21): two free, public routes reach real fund-level leverage data for specific named operators — Voyage Care’s bond-investor Annual Report (net debt/EBITDA 6.6x→5.0x, forced by its own Senior Secured Notes covenants) and Cortina Race LLP’s (Orchard’s parent) Companies House group accounts (interest cover ≈0.6x on trading profit). Both are single-operator case studies, not a market-wide figure — reaching the fund for the market as a whole still needs paid group-structure data, but the technique (bond covenants; UK LLP/group accounts, not just the operating subsidiary) is now proven and reusable.

Not yet sourced

Development cost per bed

The only figures traced so far (c.£180,000–£270,000 total development cost per bed) come from commercial care-home construction firms’ own marketing pages, which are not citable. **Largely addressed** (R18): LaingBuisson’s Care Cost Benchmarks model, via the DHSC-mandated 2022 Fair Cost of Care exercise, gives £110,000 per bed for new-build at a standard mid-market specification; a later, October 2024 LaingBuisson report for Care England gives £150,000 per bed for new, investment-grade stock. Neither is a full itemised build-cost figure (fees, FF&E, contingency not separately shown), so both are cited as named, dated anchors alongside — not a replacement for — the existing marketing-sourced range. Knight Frank’s own reports (R3, and its 2025 Capital Markets report) were checked directly and confirmed to contain no development-cost-per-bed figure at all, only land value.

Not yet sourced

The capital-gap total

Multiplying the 200,000-bed shortfall by a cost per bed is Bridgehead’s own arithmetic, not a published estimate. It is the single most powerful number available and therefore the one most likely to be attacked, so it needs sourced build costs, a stated range, and the method shown in full. **Confirmed dead end**: Knight Frank (two reports, checked directly), Savills’ own June 2026 UK Care Home Development Report (fetched and searched directly, zero £ figures anywhere in the text), Carterwood, Care England, RICS, the Health Foundation and the King’s Fund were all checked directly; none has published a total capital-gap estimate for UK elderly care. Savills does give an independent shortfall figure worth citing alongside R3 — 139,000 additional beds needed by 2036, a different horizon from Knight Frank’s c.200,000 by 2050, not a contradiction. Any headline £ capital-gap figure in this paper should be stated explicitly as Bridgehead’s own arithmetic (bed shortfall × the R18 cost-per-bed range), shown as a range with the method visible, not attributed to a published external source.

Not yet sourced

Ownership taxonomy

No existing dataset classifies English care homes by leverage, propco separation, ultimate parent jurisdiction and holding period. This has to be constructed from Companies House filings and the charge register, joined to CQC location-level ratings. **Built and tested at full scale** — see R17. The CQC-to-Companies House join works at 99.5%, the scale dimension is solid, and the group-structure layer above the registered provider now resolves for 92.3% of providers by investor type (family/founder, charity, mutual, EOT, REIT, private equity, pension/infrastructure fund), up from 76.5% after two pipeline revisions (5 and 7 September 2026). Rejoined to CQC ratings under the same controls as R15: mutual, charity/third-sector, REIT and local authority now all survive as significant, all in the protective direction; private equity does not. What remains: this sees who controls the regulated provider, not who owns the real estate underneath it — a real and likely under-counted gap, not an over-counted one (see R16/R19 on Barchester’s sale-and-leaseback, and R23 on Berkley Care's identically-shaped split).

Not yet sourced

Closure prevention

The ‘buyer of last resort’ claim is plausible but untested. It requires an analysis of CQC deregistrations against ownership transfer, to establish whether acquisition demonstrably prevents closure. If it does not, the claim does not stand. **Tested directly, and found untestable from this data at any frequency** (R22): a 29-point quarterly panel built from CQC’s own historical archive (2019–2026) shows zero locations changing CQC Provider ID across 6.75 years, despite this exact window covering a large, independently-documented wave of institutional acquisitions. Verified against a known case (Danforth Care): the registered provider entity pre-dates Welltower’s 2025 acquisition of it by nearly two years and is unchanged since. The reason is structural — share-purchase acquisitions, which is how this sector’s PE/REIT deals are overwhelmingly structured, do not touch the registered provider at all, so no snapshot frequency would make this claim testable from CQC data; only ownership-chain data (R17) can see it. Separately, exit rates by provider size remain survivorship-biased and unusable until a provider cohort is fixed at a past date.

15
References

Sources.

Twenty-three in total. Each entry notes what it supports, so any figure here can be traced back to it.

R1
Goodair B, Bach-Mortensen A · BMJ, 14 November 2024
Public provision of adult social care fell from 42% to 9% since 2001.
R2
Bach-Mortensen A, Goodair B · The Lancet Healthy Longevity, 13 March 2024
804 of 816 involuntary CQC closures since 2011 were for-profit; c.1 in 30 for-profit homes; c.20,000 residents relocated. For-profit share of homes rose from 78% (2011) to over 85% (Sept 2023).
R3
Knight Frank · Published 2 March 2026
UK bed supply 480,800 (2025), up 2.4% over the decade against a 16.2% rise in the over-65 population; supply grew by 136 beds in the last year. 79% of homes over 20 years old; 38% converted from other use; 30% of beds lack en-suite, 70% lack a full wet room; 19% rated Requires Improvement or Inadequate. Deregistered stock is predominantly smaller, older homes. Completions up 24% in 2025 but 2026 planning approvals lower. Market capacity reached by 2033; c.200,000 bed shortfall by 2050. Record £11.3bn healthcare property investment in 2025, c.4.5x the five-year average.
R4
Patwardhan S, Sutton M, Morciano M · Age and Ageing, 2022;51(12):afac222. doi:10.1093/ageing/afac222
n = 10,803 English care homes. Versus not-for-profit: private-equity-backed chains +6.6pp (95% CI 2.9–10.2) probability of Requires Improvement/Inadequate; independent for-profit +6.8pp (4.7–8.9); non-PE for-profit chains +2.5pp (0.1–4.9). PE homes 23.6% RI and 2.6% Inadequate, vs 14.5% and 0.6% for not-for-profit.
R5
Gupta A, Howell ST, Yannelis C, Gupta A · Review of Financial Studies, 2024;37(4):1029–1077 (NBER WP 28474)
US Medicare data, 7m+ patients, 2005–2017. PE ownership raises short-term mortality c.10–11%, implying c.20,150 additional deaths, and raises spending 19%. Mechanisms: lower nurse staffing, reduced compliance, higher anti-psychotic use.
R6
Centre for Health and the Public Interest · CHPI
The five largest PE-owned or backed providers have borrowed £35,072 per bed, an interest cost of £102 per bed per week, or 16% of the average weekly residential fee. Across the 26 largest providers £261m of care income services debt, of which £117m (45%) is paid to related companies.
R7
New Economics Foundation / RORE programme (with CLES, CTP, Co-operatives UK) · November 2025
Over £250m in profits taken in three English regions (North East, South Yorkshire, West Midlands) 2021–2024. Over a third of companies owned by private equity or tax-haven-based companies; £33.6m paid in interest, up to 60% to PE or tax-haven-owned companies. Some directors paid up to 60x the average wage.
R8
The Health Foundation · The Health Foundation
DHSC capital budget rising from £10.9bn (2023/24) to £13.2bn (2025/26). No dedicated capital stream for the adult social care residential estate.
R9
Institute for Government · Institute for Government
More than 18,000 providers operate across England — an exceptionally fragmented market.
R10
Corporate Watch · Corporate Watch
Documents sale-and-leaseback, opco/propco separation and offshore holding structures across the large for-profit chains.
R11
BBC News · BBC News
Hampshire halted a planned £173m care home investment after build costs were forecast to rise by at least £45m — a concrete illustration of public capital failing to deliver.
R12
Care England · Care England
Development viability, planning and construction-cost pressures on new care home supply.
R13
Care Quality Commission · CQC
The statutory regime monitoring the financial sustainability of the largest and hardest-to-replace providers.
R14
The King’s Fund · The King’s Fund
Long-run series on adult social care expenditure, means-test thresholds and self-funder cross-subsidy.
R15
Ownership structure and CQC ratings in English care homes: pilot analysis (internal)
Bridgehead Communications · Original analysis, July 2026
Built from CQC Active Locations, Latest Ratings and Deactivated Locations (1 July 2026, Open Government Licence) joined to the Companies House free company-data snapshot (1 July 2026) on the company number CQC publishes for 91% of care-home providers. 14,896 active care homes; 13,638 with a current overall rating; 6,305 of 6,335 provider companies matched (99.5%). Logit on a poor rating with local-authority fixed effects, clustered errors and case-mix controls. Findings: ownership class is not significant once scale, chain size and case mix are controlled; leverage, group consolidation and property-holding activity (Companies House BasicCompanyData) are all null; chain size and company age are highly significant and monotonic. Extended 30 July 2026 with the Companies House PSC bulk snapshot (98.1% match): a disclosed corporate/legal-person controller is significant but in the opposite direction from the critics’ thesis (lower odds of a poor rating), and is not separable from chain size. The two non-disclosure categories are reported separately rather than as one opacity dummy, because 76% of statement-only homes are charities, which are PSC-exempt and rate better regardless. Offshore corporate controllers (35 of 3,128 companies) are too rare to test. Scripts in scripts/, review in scripts/review_psc.py, results in data/processed/results.json.
R16
The CHPI ‘Big 26’ care home providers: ownership traced to July 2026 (internal)
Bridgehead Communications · Original research, July 2026
CHPI’s 2019 report (R6) named the 26 largest English providers in 2017 and split them 5 PE / 13 non-PE for-profit / 8 not-for-profit. Traced to July 2026, operator by operator with individual citations: at most 1 of the original 5 PE-tagged operators is confidently still PE-owned. Two (HC-One, Care UK) were sold to the same acquirer — Welltower, a US healthcare REIT — both in Oct 2024 (Care UK after 14yrs under Bridgepoint); Four Seasons no longer exists as an operating group; Orchard Care Homes (Alchemy Partners) is unchanged; Akari Care’s 2026 status is genuinely disputed. Welltower separately bought Barchester (Oct 2025, previously an individual-investor vehicle, never institutional PE) in the same 12-month window. Full sourced table in docs/big26-ownership-2026.md.
R17
Granular investor-type taxonomy for English care-home providers (internal)
Bridgehead Communications · Original research, September 2026 (revised 5 September 2026)
Extends R15/R16 from a hand-traced sample of 26 operators to the full register: every provider’s Companies House PSC chain walked upward past the single layer the free bulk snapshot can see (live API, structural classification on multi-level bidco/midco/topco/opco shell ladders and named sponsors, not keyword-matching generic terms like ‘capital’ or ‘partners’ — that approach false-positives on ordinary family businesses). Ran against all 7,221 active care-home provider companies on the register; a revision on 5 September 2026 added three CQC-native reclassification rules the pipeline had not previously consulted (a disclosed charity number, CQC’s own Individual/Partnership ownership-type field, and a local-authority name pattern) and corrected two name-coincidence false positives, taking resolution from 76.5% to 88.5% of providers (6,394 of 7,221; 88.6% of beds). A second revision on 7 September 2026, prompted by a paid group-structure data (Endole) trial against the then-427 ‘institutional, sponsor unresolved’ providers, found the trial's real value was exposing a bug rather than needing the paid data itself: the PSC walk stopped whenever a parent was named but Companies House left its registration number absent, unpadded or malformed, rather than resolving the named parent by a company-search lookup. Fixed, and combined with reading Companies House's own natures_of_control field so a PSC entry only counts as ownership on equity/appointment grounds, not influence-only (the case that stops a financing relationship reading as one — see R23), taking resolution to 92.3% of providers and beds (6,666 of 7,221). Headline: institutional capital combined is now 8.2% of providers and 17.5% of beds (up from 7.5%/16.5%, since the fix recovers real institutional chains the earlier revision's rules could not reach, not because more was manufactured); private equity specifically is 0.64% of providers and 1.01% of beds (up from 0.43%/0.83%). Rejoined to CQC ratings with the same logit specification as R15 (local-authority fixed effects, clustered errors, case mix and scale controlled): mutual (OR 0.62, p<0.001), charity/third-sector (OR 0.77, p=0.008), REIT (OR 0.69, p=0.003) and local authority (OR 0.60, p=0.017) are all significant against a family-or-founder reference and all point the same, protective direction; private equity is not significant (OR 0.78, p=0.25), confirming R15’s finding survives a far sharper ownership category, not a new result. Caveat carried forward from build: this method resolves control of the regulated care-providing entity, not the underlying real estate — one of the largest 2025 REIT deals in the sector (Welltower/Barchester, see R16/R19) turned out to be a sale-and-leaseback with the operating company’s ownership unchanged, so real-estate-only financialisation is undercounted here, not overcounted. Scripts in scripts/resolve_ownership.py and scripts/analyse_investor_type.py; data in data/processed/ownership_resolved.csv and investor_type_model.json.
R18
Care Cost Benchmarks (as reproduced in local-authority Fair Cost of Care reports, 2023) and Adult Social Care in the UK (October 2024, for Care England and the Homecare Association) (internal)
LaingBuisson · LaingBuisson
Two citable, non-marketing development-cost-per-bed figures. The DHSC-mandated 2022 ‘Fair Cost of Care’ exercise, reproduced in council reports (e.g. Havering, Sheffield), gives £110,000 per registered bed for new-build at a standard mid-market specification (April 2022 prices). A later, October 2024 LaingBuisson report for Care England and the Homecare Association states an average of £61,000 per bed across England from the same exercise, ‘ranging from about £30,000 per bed for low quality legacy stock to £150,000 per bed for new, investment grade, future-proofed care homes.’ Neither figure is a full itemised development-cost build-up (fees, FF&E, contingency), so both are cited as anchors alongside, not instead of, the existing marketing-sourced £180,000–£270,000 range.
R19
Competition and Markets Authority · CMA, ME/7137/25, 7 May 2026
275 care homes managed by Barchester, 279 by HC-One, 68 by Aria plus 2 by Asprey, and 25 by Danforth — 649 in total, within a wider Welltower UK portfolio of over 900 existing care homes. Barchester’s day-to-day operator is Apex Healthcare Properties LLC (a US real-estate investment firm that entered the UK care market via this acquisition); HC-One and Aria/Asprey are operated by Care UK. On Welltower’s RIDEA-structured homes, the CMA found Welltower holds approval rights over operators’ annual business plans and budgets, responsibility for funding capital expenditure, and without-cause termination rights over operators — a regulator-documented mechanism by which a landlord can shape a care home’s competitive and quality offering without being its operator of record. Found a realistic prospect of a substantial lessening of competition in 30 local areas across England and Scotland (9 in residential care, 29 in nursing care, overlapping). Welltower and Apex were given until 14 May 2026 to offer undertakings in lieu of a Phase 2 reference; this document covers only the Phase 1 finding, not the deal’s monetary value or the eventual remedy.
R20
Sponsor self-disclosure review: what PE firms, REITs and infrastructure funds owning UK care providers publish about themselves (internal)
Bridgehead Communications · Original research, September 2026
Checked 11 sponsor groups’ own websites, portfolio pages, ESG/sustainability reports and (for SEC-listed sponsors) SEC filings against their UK care holdings. The core finding: at least six independent sponsors — Welltower, InfraBridge/DigitalBridge, G Square, Synova, Stirling Square and Sovereign Capital — each publish detailed ESG content (carbon, workforce, DE&I metrics) for the exact care holding in question, with zero mentions of CQC ratings or safeguarding, in at least three cases while the same document covers care quality or safeguarding in detail for a different portfolio company. This is one disclosure pattern recurring six times independently, not six isolated omissions. Financial/commercial detail (investment size, growth targets, financing partners) is consistently disclosed in more specific terms than care quality across the whole sample. Separately confirmed two free, public routes to genuine fund-level leverage data where paid group-structure data was previously the only option (see R21).
R21
Free public routes to fund-level leverage data (internal)
Bridgehead Communications, from Voyage Care Ltd bond investor reporting and Cortina Race LLP’s Companies House group accounts · Original research, September 2026
Two free, non-SEC ways to reach the leverage data the pilot’s Companies House charge-count proxy cannot see. Voyage Care’s bond-investor Annual Report — published because its £250m Senior Secured Notes carry covenant-driven disclosure obligations — shows audited net debt/EBITDA of 6.6x (FY2024) falling to 5.0x (FY2025), no dividend paid in either year, and a named related-party loan charging the operating group 10% interest (plus facilities at Bank of England base rate + 1.65%/1.9%). Cortina Race LLP’s (Orchard Care Homes’ parent) own Companies House group accounts show turnover of £63.9m and operating profit of £1.84m against interest payable of £3.0m — interest cover of roughly 0.6x on trading profit alone — with the same 10%-plus-base-rate related-party loan structure. Both routes are reusable: bond-covenant disclosure and UK LLP/group accounts (rather than the operating subsidiary alone) are worth checking for any PE-owned operator with public debt or a UK-domiciled fund vehicle.
R22
Closure-prevention pilot: testing the ‘buyer of last resort’ claim against CQC’s historical registration archive (internal)
Bridgehead Communications · Original research, September 2026
Built a 29-point quarterly panel (2019 Q1 to 2025 Q4, plus 1 July 2026) from CQC’s own historical ‘HSCA Active Locations’ archive, tracking every active care home’s registered provider over 6.75 years. Result: zero locations changed CQC Provider ID across the entire panel, despite the exact window covering a large, independently-documented wave of institutional acquisitions (R16, R19). Verified directly against a known case: Danforth Care’s registered provider entities already existed, unchanged, in January 2024 — nearly two years before Welltower’s October 2025 acquisition — and remain identical today. The reason is structural, not a snapshot-frequency problem: these are share purchases of a parent company, not re-registrations of the regulated entity, so CQC’s Provider ID — which identifies the registered legal person, not the beneficial owner — has no mechanism to change. This is precisely why this project needed the separate Companies House PSC-chain methodology (R17) to see beneficial-ownership change at all. The panel’s independently-computed exit rate (1.51% per quarter, ≈5.9% annualised) closely cross-validates the existing deregistration-file estimate (Fig 10, ≈5.5%/year).
R23
Two named test cases (Berkley Care Group, Connaught Care Collection), checking whether the resolution method confuses financing with ownership (internal)
Bridgehead Communications, from Companies House PSC filings, charge register and Endole · Original research, September 2026
Berkley Care Group was reported as Elevation-owned with two directors holding a fractional stake. Companies House shows a sale-and-leaseback split instead: Clariane SE sold Berkley Care on 10 April 2024 in two parts, Elevation Healthcare Properties (an open-ended UK healthcare property fund managed by Elevation Advisors LLP) bought the freeholds and leased them back, and Berkley’s own leadership bought the operations. Elevation appears nowhere in the operating company’s PSC chain, officer list or charge register (held by HSBC UK); the ‘two directors’ are the management buyers of the regulated entity, not minority co-investors alongside an institutional majority. This is a false negative no amount of PSC walking can fix — it is the same ‘sees the operating company, not the real estate’ limitation already conceded for Welltower/Barchester (R16/R19), now dated precisely. Classified Pension-or-Infra-Fund by hand-verified override for consistency with the identically-shaped Signature Senior Lifestyle deal, with the opco/propco split recorded in the classification notes rather than silently resolved as straightforward private equity. Connaught Care Collection is the mirror-image control case: Elevation part-financed one home only, equity is Halton/Dixon throughout, and Elevation appears in no PSC record at any level — the charges on both the operating company and its propco are held by Coutts & Company, confirming that a pure lending relationship does not, in fact, generate a PSC entry. Companies House's own natures_of_control field, previously discarded by the pipeline, now classifies each PSC entry as equity/appointment, influence-only or fractional, so a financing or advisory relationship that IS registered as a PSC (on influence grounds, no shares or votes) is held back as institutional-unresolved pending hand verification rather than converted automatically into a sponsor label. A one-month Endole trial (£25, the proximate cause of this check) surfaced a separate defect in the same pass: the PSC walk stopped whenever a parent was named but its Companies House registration number was absent, unpadded or malformed, rather than resolving the name via a company-search lookup — fixed, and folded into the same R17 pipeline revision (7 September 2026).

Download the full 17-page report (PDF) →